Meet a Mom: Christina Skeldon of Macaroni Kid South Shore

Hi, it's me. Your Publisher.

By Christina Skeldon September 14, 2021

Last week, we introduced you to our new series, Meet a Mom. I love promoting women, especially moms, especially moms who are busting their butts off to do it all. We truly are something else! On that note, meet me, your Publisher of South Shore Macaroni Kid. I would typically never write an article about myself but it's my birthday, so I am feeling up for the challenge!

How many kids do you have and how old are they? I have two boys, Chase and James. Chase is 4 and James will be 2 in 2 weeks!

What town do you live in and what is your favorite thing about the South Shore? I live in Marshfield and my favorite thing about the South Shore is summertime. It's like the whole South Shore comes to live the second the weather is warm enough to open up your sunroof.

What do you like to do for fun with your kids? Without your kids? We love to go to Duxbury Beach at 4pm when it is less crowded and the boys are nice and rested after their naps. Without our kids, my husband and I love going out to eat. We consider ourselves foodies (moved down here from Boston where we were spoiled with all of the amazing restaurants) so are always trying out new places and frequenting our favorites!

Tell me about Macaroni Kid: I have been using Macaroni Kid as a resource ever since Chase was born. When the position opened up, my good friend Shannon told me about it and made me apply. I kind of did it half jokingly but before I knew it, I was offered the position and have absolutely loved meeting new people and being South Shore parents go to resource for all of the fun things! 

Does the South Shore have any influence on your work? Well, yes, duh. Because I run South Shore Macaroni Kid. But also, I am trying to personalize Macaroni Kid to what I would want to see (and hope other people like to see). Lots of kid friendly restaurants, breweries, events, locations, etc. I can put a million story times on my event calendar but I want to also include things that mom and dad will enjoy!

How do you balance work and life? Or do you? I don't. To be completely honest, by the end of the day, I am so exhausted with less than ideal patience. In addition to Macaroni Kid, I am also a College Consultant so between the two jobs, being a full time mom, wife, friend, cook, toy picker upper, etc. I find myself craving some alone time. I try to take an hour a day to myself (during nap time) to either relax with a book or workout (peloton, anyone?!).

Favorite places on the South Shore to 

Eat: This is so tough but probably Sorelle in Abington 

Drink: Rexicana or Roht

Play: The Spit